close menu
This website uses cookies to store your accessibility preferences. No personal / identifying information is stored. More info.

Regional Council

Council Meeting

Membership with the HOGARC is automatic for governments within the region, while an appointed Council is responsible for establishing HOGARC’s policy and directive as provided or authorized by law. Council membership for the HOGARC is comprised of not less than two nor more than five representatives from each member county served by the RC, including at least one elected or appointed municipal government official from each member county and at least one elected or appointed county government official from each member county.

The objectives of the HOGARC are to develop, promote, and assist in establishing coordinated and comprehensive planning in Georgia; to provide local governments on both an individual and regional basis with professional technical assistance to improve local government service programs; to provide professional technical assistance with the development, collection, compilation, and maintenance of a local information base and network; to manage those nonprofit corporations created by the HOGARC in accordance with Georgia law for the operation of revolving loan programs and to function as a certified development company; and to function as the designated Area Agency on Aging (AAA), responsible for services, advocating on behalf of older persons in need, and contracting with a network of agencies to provide direct services to the elderly in the Heart of Georgia region.

Council meetings are the 4th Thursday of each Month EXCEPT for July, August and December in Mt. Vernon. at the Senior Center at 7:00 p.m. Please note that November’s Meeting is the 3rd Thursday of the month.

Appling County

  • Mr. Theodore Wilkerson*
    • Commissioner, Appling County
  • Ms. Ora Hall
    • Council Member, City of Baxley
  • Rev. James Futch
    • Non-Public Member, Appling County

Bleckley County

  • Mr. Mike Davis*
    • Commissioner, Bleckley County
  • Mr. Billy Yeomans
    • Mayor, City of Cochran
  • Mr. Britt Stewart
    • Non-Public Member, Bleckley County

Candler County

  • Mr. Brad Jones
    • Commissioner, Candler County
  • Ms. Chyrileen Kilcrease
    • Council Member, City of Metter
  • Mr. Marcus McCray
    • Non-Public Member, Candler County

Dodge County

  • Mr. Brian Watkins*
    • Commissioner, Dodge County
  • Mr. Mark Peacock
    • Council Member, City of Eastman
  • Mr. Conner Bearden
    • Non-Public Member, Dodge County

Emanuel County

  • Mr. Jim Sherrod
    • Commissioner, Emanuel County
  • Mr. Matt Donaldson*
    • Mayor, City of Twin City
  • Mr. Timmy Oliver
    • Non-Public Member, Emanuel County

Evans County

  • Ms. Irene Burney*
    • Chairperson, Commission Evans County
  • Mr. Terry Branch
    • Mayor, City of Claxton
  • Mr. Terry McCorkle
    • Non-Public Member, Evans County

Jeff Davis County

  • Mr. Dywane Johnson
    • Council Member, City of Hazlehurst
  • Mr. Vann Wooten
    • Non-Public Member, Jeff Davis County

Johnson County

  • Mr. Mike Keene
    • Commissioner, Johnson County
  • Mr. Jeff Hall
    • Council Member, City of Wrightsville
  • Mr. William F. “Bill” Lindsey*
    • Non-Public Member, Johnson County

Laurens County

  • Mr. Jimmy Rogers*
    • Commissioner, Laurens County
  • Mr. Len Tanner
    • Council Member, City of East Dublin
  • Mr. Ronald Harrington
    • Non-Public Member, Laurens County

Montgomery County

  • Mr. Chad Kenney*
    • Commissioner, Montgomery County
  • Mr. Harold Quarterman
    • Council Member, City of Mt. Vernon
  • Ms. Elizabeth Williams
    • Non-Public Member, Montgomery County

Tattnall County

  • Mr. Jackie Trim
    • Chairperson, Commission, Tattnall County
  • Mr. Bernie Weaver*
    • Mayor, City of Glennville
  • Mr. Frank Murphy
    • Non-Public Member, Tattnall County

Telfair County

  • Mr. Waylon Spires
    • Commissioner, Telfair County
  • Chad Puckett
  • Ms. Susan Evans
    • Non-Public Member, Telfair County

Toombs County

  • Mr. David Sikes
    • Chairman, Toombs County
  • Mr. John Raymond Turner
    • Council Member, City of Vidalia
  • Mr. John M. Jones*
    • Non-Public Member, Toombs County

Treutlen County

  • Ms. Cali Hollis
    • Commissioner, Treutlen County
  • Mr. Izell Stephens, Jr. *
    • Council Member, City of Soperton
  • Ms. Cashaunda Smith
    • Non-Public Member, Treutlen County

Wayne County

  • Mr. James Thomas, Chairman
    • Commissioner, Wayne County
  • Mr. Ralph Hickox
    • Mayor, City of Jesup
  • Mr. Adair “Tyrone” Johnson*
    • Non-Public Member, Wayne County

Wheeler County

  • Mr. Keith McNeal*
    • Commissioner, Wheeler County
  • Mr. G.M. Joiner, Jr.
    • Council Member, City of Glenwood
  • Mr. Bobby Cox, Sr.
    • Non-Public Member, Wheeler County

Wilcox County

  • Mr. Alfonza Hall
    • Commissioner, Wilcox County
  • Mr. Ronald Spires*
    • Mayor, City of Abbeville
  • Mr. Clay Reid
    • Non-Public Member, Wilcox County

Doc app

Document Center

The Document Center provides easy access to public documents. Click on one of the categories below to see related documents or use the search function.

Categories always sorted by seq (sub-categories sorted within each category)
Documents sorted by SEQ in Ascending Order within category

Council Agenda1 document

  • Council Meeting Agenda
    document seq 0.00

Council Minutes9 documents

  • Jan
    document seq 0.00
  • Feb
    document seq 0.00
  • Mar
    document seq 0.00
  • Apr
    document seq 0.00
  • May
    document seq 0.00
  • Jun
    document seq 0.00
  • Sep
    document seq 0.00
  • Oct
    document seq 0.00
  • Nov
    document seq 0.00